Following World War II, construction was undertaken
simultaneously on the Deniboota Scheme south west
of Deniliquin and on the newly approved Denimein
Scheme, to the north west.
The development of the irrigation network continued
until the last channels were completed in 1964.
The total length of the supply network is almost 3000
The primary focus of irrigation in the Southern
Riverina was pasture for sheep, beef and dairy cattle,
and winter cereals.
Intensive horticulture, viticulture, orchards and rice
growing were originally prohibited to protect markets
already being supplied by the Murrumbidgee Irrigation
Water was provided to each property’s boundary and
landholders were then responsible for the development
of their own farm channels and layout.
Horse teams were often used to make smaller supply
channels and farm channels, until tractors became
more widely available in the late 1940s.
Early irrigation was often crude and labour intensive,
relying on the natural contours of the land to direct
water. Many district graziers depended on farm workers or sharefarmers from the Murrumbidgee or Victoria
who had irrigation experience to teach them
new farming techniques
Promoting closer settlement, the
Government continued subdividing larger properties
following World War II, mostly as soldier settlement
blocks. From 1947 to the mid 1950s the NSW
Government created 30 to 40 new holdings a year.
Water was initially provided to landholders on the basis
of 10 acre feet per 100 acres of land, up to a maximum
of 200 acre feet.
Each subdivided property was given an
additional water entitlement of its own.